In the News:
Akshaya Patra Wins CNBC Award

by Srinivas Kumar

Posted January 31, 2009

Sri Madhu Pandit Dasa, president of the Akshaya Patra Foundation, is at the photo's extreme left. receiving the Social Enterprise of the Year honour on behalf of the organization.

An organization sponsored by ISKCON Bangalore has once again been recognized for its social contribution to India. Akshaya Patra, the world's largest non-governmental organization providing midday meals, is currently feeding 973,000 children with Krishna-prasadam at over 5,700 schools across India. CNBC-TV has now given Akshaya Patra an India Business Leader Award as social enterprise of the year.

The January 22 event brought together major leaders in India's political, economic and social circles at the Taj Lands End. Akshaya Patra had previously been selected for a Harvard Business School case study and won appreciation from US President Barack Obama.

Other Indian Business Leader Award winners included Mukesh Ambani, Sumit Banerjee, Ashwin Dani, Naresh Goyal, Shri Kamalnath, Aamir Khan, Uday Kotak, Keshub Mahindra, Lalit Modi, Deepak Parekh, Ajay Piramal, Atul Punj, S. Ramadorai, and Chitra Ramakrishnan.

Celebrating visionary leadership, the CNBC 4th annual India Business Leader Awards recognize leaders who have made a difference or created an edge above peers. Winning an IBLA is a defining moment both for the leader and for his or her organization. CNBC began the awards program to recognize leaders who create and sustain entrepreneurial initiatives, develop best practices and carve out powerful businesses in the global economy.

The chairperson of jury selection for the award was Mukesh Ambani, CMD of India's biggest company, Reliance India. Other jury members were Kumar Mangalam Birla, chair of the Aditya Birla Group; Deepak Parekh, chair of HDFC; R. Seshasayee, managing director of Ashok Leyland; Jagdish Khattar, CMD of Carnation Auto India; and Raghav Bahl, managing director of Network 18.

Dignitaries present for the award ceremony included Ashok Chavan, chief minister of Maharashtra; Narendra Modi, chief minister of Gujarat; and Kamal Nath, Union commerce and industries minister. Others attending included K. M. Birla, Anand G. Mahindra, Swati Piramal and Nita Ambani.